Oct. 22: Renowned organist Christopher Houlihan in La Grange


Renowned organist Christopher Houlihan in La Grange

Sunday, October 22:
Organist Christopher Houlihan in recital at First Methodist Church in La Grange

Program showcases the beauty and versatility of the church's recently rebuilt Möller organ

"They call organist Christopher Houlihan the 'Fred Astaire of the pipe organ' ... He plays it with the technical prowess of a rock star."

-Arizona Daily Star

On Sunday, October 22, 2017 at 3:00 pm the acclaimed organist Christopher Houlihan performs at La Grange's First United Methodist Church (100 West Cossitt Avenue). This special event marks the dedication of the recently rebuilt Möller organ, Opus 8261. A freewill offering will be received.

Houlihan's recital will showcase the beauty and versatility of First United Methodist's newly rebuilt organ in a diverse program of music by Bach, Vierne, Messiaen and Sowerby. The opus 8261 organ at First United Methodist Church was built by M.P Möller in 1951 and rebuilt by Berghaus in 2017.

Critics have applauded Christopher Houlihan for his "world class chops" and "marvelous ear"; The Los Angeles Times proclaimed him dazzling and seductive. Houlihan's Disney Hall debut, performing with principal brass of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, resulted in The LA Times raving, "Houlihan is the next big organ talent." Recent concert highlights include debuts at the Kennedy Center and Kimmel Center, and concertos with the Columbus (GA) Symphony and Chamber Orchestra of Boston. Houlihan has recently been appointed the John Rose College Organist-and-Directorship Distinguished Chair of Chapel Music at Trinity College in Hartford, his alma mater. Complete bio, photos, videos and more are at ChristopherHoulihan.com


Calendar Listing

First United Methodist Church

100 West Cossitt Avenue
La Grange, IL 60525

Sunday 3:00 pm
October 22, 2017

A freewill offering will be received

Leo Sowerby - Toccata
Oliver Messiaen - Alleluias sereins, from L'Ascension
J.S. Bach - Passcaglia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 582
Louis Vierne - Carillon de Westminster, from 24 Pièces de Fantaisie, op. 54
Scherzo, from Symphony No. 2
Romance, from Symphony No. 4
Toccata, from 24 Pièces de Fantaisie, op. 53